Hi everyone~ ^w^

I had wanted to start this on the new year as a new step, but I realized that Christmas is even better :)  What better time is there than to start new on the (celebrated) day that gave new life?  Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a religious kind of blog, but this is a life kind of journal, and my life has been striving towards my religion.  So for me, I think this is a perfect and special time.

Anyways, like I said, this is just a place to put pieces of myself: life adventures, thoughts, random ideas (of which I have luxurious many), and of course, evidence of my escapades in the kitchen (I like to bake, and somehow I’m starting to think I ought to cook).  I hope I can entertain you or, at least, not bore you too much… ;;

Soo… please enjoy :)

Today (by now, yesterday) was the day of Christmas Eve, and it’s been an interesting couple of weeks (interesting year, really).  Among other things, today was the first time I actually tried to cook, and I made Christmas dinner!  Well, aside from the ham and the Chinese dishes my parents added because my grandmother came to have dinner with us XD;

Here is a copy of the Christmas Menu:

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Christmas Dinner

Appetizers/Starters
Asparagus Roll-ups
Crab Corn Pudding

Sides
Cranberry Almond Salad
Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp
Sesame Green Beans
Chinese dishes

Main Dish
Ham

Dessert
Tres Leches
Peppermint Ice Cream

Drinks
Poinsettia
Eggnog
Tea or Decaf Espresso (for dessert)

Christmas Breakfast/Brunch

Christmas Omelettes
Pumpkin or Decaf Espresso
Tea (Chai or normal breakfast tea)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

In addition to cooking, my mom and I made Christmas presents for my dad and grandma — three flannel scarves for my dad (two of them were for me and my mom, so we’d all have the same scarf) and a pink and white flannel blanket for my grandma.  They were very easy to make and involve no sewing at all, so that’s how we managed to do them all in one day XD

I’ll post a separate entry with all the photos (since there are a lot), or link to an album.  I haven’t quite figured out how I’m going to do this, yet >__< Sorry~

After dinner, we gave my grandma her presents, drove around to see some neighborhood lights (although it was raining, so there weren’t as many on as we had thought there would be), and then took grandma back to where she’s staying. She liked her presents: the blanket and some cute beige house boots. She even made a couple poses for the camera XD So cute.

When my parents and I got back home, we changed into PJs and got some drinks :3 I poured some eggnog for mom and dad and got hot cocoa for meself. Then presents!  There were lots :D  My dad got some house slippers and the scarves.  He works out of the country, and it’s very cold there, so my mom is always worried he will be cold XD I got some jewelry, a pretty pretty pink scarf my mom made, and fruit tea from my dad.  My mom got three tickets to a Celtic Woman show :3 She really likes that group, so my dad and I just had to get those tickets :D

From my friends, I also got an amazing copy of my pr0 chef friend’s culinary school notes (thank you, dear!), an adorable card and very nice mascara from my friend who is like my makeup expert, and two Christmas nyanko kitties and a pretty pastry decorating book from my senpai ^w^ I also got a restaurant certificate from my fearless small group co-leader :x Thank you everyone!

And of course, I had to leave some snacks out for Santa :) This year I left him some eggnog, grapefruit peels, and kettle corn. Who does best for you, Santa? I bet none of the other kids give you alcohol XD

Christmas brunch consisted of Christmas omelettes (apparently I’m still really bad at cooking, because they were kind of fail XD).  And my bribe to Santa worked because I got two necklaces in my stocking :x

All in all, a quite lovely and relaxed Christmas this year, full of family and FOOD.  Most memorable moments and lessons:
– Mom’s biscuit opening fail.  She opened a can of Pillsbury biscuits, and they exploded all over the kitchen XD;
– Frying shrimp is hard.  In the end, my mom had to save the dish and fry them for me QQ
– Grandma really loves rice noodles XD   My mom cooked two packs of rice noodles for dinner, and my grandma ate almost all of them.

And random quotes:
Mom: Everyone’s family is a little weird.  My side of the family is weird, too.
Me: Yeah, but your side of the family is only one generation of weird.  (My uncles don’t have any children.)  We’ve got three generations of weird going on here.

Mom:  When did you stop believing in Santa?
Me: I don’t know, I was going to ask you that.
Mom: I don’t know either, you always left things out for Santa every year.
Me:  Oh… I don’t remember, then.
Dad:  Was it like not believing in the tooth fairy anymore?
Me:  I think I had to stop believing in the tooth fairy when I ran out of teeth.

Merry Merry Christmas!

I hope your day is filled with warmth, love, and joy

