I recently heard Taylor Swift’s new album, “Speak Now” (from Tiffy, who was playing music when she came to visit).  I usually really like Taylor Swift’s songs, because the lyrics are intelligent and honest, and the music is usually very fitting.  She also has some of the best music American music videos I’ve seen — I prefer music videos with a story line, rather than just glamorized photo shoots, so I really like hers :3

Anyways, I particularly liked this song from the album.  There are actually a lot that I’ve come to like as I listened to them, but I think I felt really connected with this one.  For my own reasons, of course :P  This one is called “The Story of Us.”

Lyrics I particularly liked:

“I used to know my place was a spot next to you
Now I’m searching the room for an empty seat”

“Now I’m standing alone in a crowded room
And we’re not speaking
And I’m dying to know, is it killing you
Like it’s killing me?”

“And the story of us
Looks a lot like a tragedy now”

“How I was losing my mind when I saw you here
But you held your pride like you should have held me”

“I’d tell you I miss you but I don’t know how
I’ve never heard silence quite this loud”

“This is looking like a contest of who can act like they care less
But I liked it better when you were on my side
The battle’s in your hands now”

Okay, fine, I copied like half the song, and I still had more.  So I guess I just like the lyrics >___<;;;  (By the way, I really like the first picture in that video.  It’s so pretty and artistic ^^  I want to do a photoshoot now… ><)

 

Bonus song :D  This one’s called “If This Was a Movie.”

Favorite lyrics:

“Come back come back come back to me like
You would you would if this was a movie
Stand in the rain outside ’til I came out”

The interesting thing about these lyrics is that it’s sort of improbable by now (even though it’s really romantic to think about).  I think that most guys, if they came at all, would just sit in their car XP

Another interesting thing for me is, when I first heard (and every time I hear) that line, I had this image of this side story I had in which two characters (who like each other, obviously) get into a big argument (because they’re too dumb to admit that they like each other, probably), and the guy ends up doing exactly that — waiting outside on the street corner in the rain until she comes out/comes back.  I think I first got that image/idea from a Maroon 5 song, “She Will Be Loved,” with these lyrics:

“I don’t mind spending everyday
Out on your corner in the pouring rain”

Now I feel like writing again… I think I have dangerous amounts of romanticism XD;;…

