Today is March 16, which I heard for the first time on the radio is John 3:16 day :)  I’ve never thought of it before, but it seems like that radio station is really big on holidays XD  So am I, so it works out well.

They recommended that today, everyone share John 3:16 with at least one person.  Maybe it’s a little cheating for me to post it, but I think I’m too intimidated by strangers to talk to them in person T__T;;  But anyways, here is the verse.  I think that it’s probably one of the most famous, powerful, and fundamental verses.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

— John 3:16 (NIV)

My dear friend Iris told me a few months ago that she has been recently starting to listen to Christian music.  Previously, she was pretty into K-Pop and up-to-date on a lot of that music.  (She knows like everything about everything media-related, I feel like.)

Before that, I rarely listened to Christian music, because it made me feel kind of… I’m not sure.  It was just an awkward, uncomfortable feeling, and I pinned it on the idea that a lot of them sounded like love songs, but they weren’t; at least, not in the typical way.  They weren’t romantic love songs to a significant other.  They were love songs to God.  And that just really weirded me out for some reason.  I mean, I always liked worship songs (at church), but not so much contemporary music.

After Iris told me that, I started listening more and more to Christian music.  I happily found that there are Christian radio stations, and Pandora also has Christian music.  And the funny thing is, I started to like a lot of the songs.

I think part of the reason I started moving towards this kind of music is because most of the music out there these days… well, some might be catchy, but most of them don’t really inspire a clean, righteous kind of life.  They make you want to go to a club and do some dirty dancing, and maybe at the end of the night you’ll be wasted enough to take a stranger home for activities you might not remember the next day, if you’re lucky.  Maybe that works for some people, but it’s really not my thing, and it’s not to me what a fulfilling life would be like.

I like to think that I can do something useful with my life — as useful as anyone could be, anyways.  Whether for self-fulfillment, happiness, a higher calling, God’s purpose, or just because, I’d like to be productive and bless others.  Normally, I do a terrible job, but it’s something I like to aspire to.  And I don’t think that many other people could truthfully say that they don’t want a purposeful life.  I don’t think many people enjoy wandering around aimlessly.  If nothing else, it’s sort of boring and repetitive.  You start wondering, “What’s the point?”

Anyways, sorry for the long locution at the potential expense of offending anyone who is not religious (or is of a different religion).  I just wanted to put up some songs that I heard recently that I like >__<  I think that, regardless of your beliefs, there is something beautiful, true, and touching in all of these songs.

~*~

~*~

~*~

